learning as I go

My first wordpress post. If Kate can do it, I can do it!

I want to learn more about everything web. Years ago I took classes (that I still have not paid off) and they were great, but one of the things I started to figure out was that there are a zillion free or cheap resources out there for people who want to learn from a book or a website rather than a four month long class. Maybe it was the school, but it seemed to me like a lot of what we were doing is just being spoonfed a chapter a week out of a Peach Pit Press “classroom in a book”, which I felt I could have done myself without paying the teacher. Plus, those classes were a long time ago … I’m sure little if any of it is strictly relevant anymore.

My pal C works for wordpress and we had a great dinner the other day. She suggested that maybe this could be something I’m good at, too! I didn’t know that nearly 25% of all sites are powered by WP!

So hell, I might as well start. I’m beginning with the free version so we’ll see how much I can change and mess with and learn about before I need to upgrade. I’m guessing it won’t be long before I need more access so I can mess around with layouts and such as much as I want to.

Kate also suggested a Lynda.com subscription as a birthday gift! Brilliant. It’s incredibly cheap to be honest; something like $375 for a year and you can do as much as you want. That’s significantly less than 1 class at MCTC.

So, nothing special or fancy in this post … just a placeholder I guess as I try something new. Finally.

Leave a Reply

